California Workers Could Be Eligible For COVID-19 Supplemental Sick Leave
February 9, 2022 – Gov. Gavin Newsom has signed a law allowing many California workers to be eligible for COVID-19 supplemental sick leave through the beginning of this fall.
The new law only applies to businesses with 26 employees or more, and covers workers who are unable to work or telework for COVID-related reasons.
Under the bill, employers will be required to give workers as much as two weeks paid time off if they become infected with the coronavirus.
Eligible employees will receive up to 40 hours of paid time off if they are experiencing COVID-19 symptoms, caring for a relative who tests positive for the virus, or are subject to quarantine or isolation orders.
The law takes effect immediately and is retroactive to January 1, 2022, but an employer’s obligation to provide 2022 COVID-19 supplemental California paid sick leave does not begin until 10 days after the governor signs, i.e., February 19, 2022.
Employees can also get paid time off for getting the vaccine or a booster shot, and to recover from any potential side effects, but businesses can limit the total for that to 24 hours.
Know your rights,